Two Views

Standard

I have two views about children.  What I think about me as a child, and what I think about all the other children in the world.

When I think of me as a child (looking back on the past), the only thing I see is what a horrible person I was.  I was was clearly at fault for what happened.  I can only blame myself.  It’s full of shouldas.  I should have told someone.  I should have fought back.  I shouldn’t have hid.

When I think about other children, particularly ones in situations like my own, I see nothing but innocence.  How could you blame them?  It’s like their lives are out of control and they’re doing the best they can.

I have a hard time reconciling these views.  On the surface, it seems so easy.  But when I try to tackle it, all those negative thoughts come racing back.

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

Leave a Reply

