Fibromyalgia, Plans, Randomness

Not Again

Yet again, I ended up on the ground.  Landed on the knee I hurt last winter.  There’s still a little fluid on it, so I hope this doesn’t aggravate that.  I’m not a big fan of the draining.  Got my left ankle all taped up.  Apparently the tendon I hurt is a popular one.  Dr. Kim sees about 10 a day.  Maybe Korea is just a klutzy country.  Bring a klutz to a klutzy country and pain will ensue.

I managed to not mentally beat myself up for falling.  It was hard not to.  I have to accept this is part of my life now.  The pain has mostly subsided (but I can keep up the shots as needed), but the fatigue and muscle weakness is worse.  Trade one for the other.

I’m thinking of finding (with translation help) a beginner adult ballet class I could go to in the morning.  I would explain I have a medical condition that might limit some of the things I can do.  But I need to find something to do with my mornings and something to work on strength and flexibility.  If I can’t find anything, I’ll see what I can find on the internet.  I guess it’s a moot point until I get clearance from Dr. Kim to do it.  Ballet was something I did as a kid.  In some ways it helped with the pain of the more jarring tap classes.  And I did a lot more tap than ballet.  Probably 3-4 times more.  I figure once I have clearance (see above ankle injury) I’ll do PT 4 days a week and as much as I can of the ballet the other 4 days.  And yes, I’ll listen to my body.  I’ve found I really need to do that more and more.

I went to grade tests this morning (Oh how I hate supporting StarBucks, but they’re the only ones who have a chai tea latte).  I got through maybe a dozen.  I couldn’t keep my eyes open.  It had nothing to do with boredom.  Never a dull moment (“I lost my pocket” being my current favorite answer).  But my brain and my body were screaming at me.  I ran up to the bookstore to pick up my copy of “Mummies in the Morning” (oh god kill me now for having to teach this) and a phonics books for my kindy kids.  Then on my way to the cab, I fell.  Went to see Dr. Kim.  X-rays, the works.  Another mention of the deterioration of my cartilage in my knee.  Another reminder that osteoarthritis goes back at least 3 generations in my maternal side, and usually starts in the mid 30s.  Also another reminder he found it in my wrists and shoulder.  Can’t blame that on being fat.

Once I got home, I went to bed.  I woke up to find Gidgette under the covers next to me and Ivory on top of me.  They only do that if they’re cold (not cold yet) or if they think I’m upset.  Animals know more than you think.  Speaking of said animals, they want dinner.

Leave a Reply

