Fatigue, Fibromyalgia, Pain, Sleep, Venting, Work

Respect

I can’t believe the lack of respect the students show the foreign teachers.  It doesn’t surprise me.  I’ve been here 5 years.  But if I had said no to a teacher or talked back, I wouldn’t have sat down for a week.  It’s worse the older they get.  I dread teaching my low level 5th grade class.  They don’t understand me.  They don’t try to understand me.  And frankly, I’ve lost the will to care about how they do.  It’s not just me.  They misbehave for their Korean teacher too.  At least they pass my tests.  They averaged somewhere around a 35 on R’s test.

I leave that class feeling drained and stressed.  If my pain levels are at a 2 to begin with, they’re up to a 5 by the end of the class.  I try to not let them get under my skin.  But they do.

The fatigue is hitting me hard right now.  The pain is manageable with the gabapentin and the PT.  But I am so tired and I feel so stupid.  Gotta teach a grammar point to my advanced students?  Better look it up in advance because I couldn’t tell you off the top of my head what the past perfect continuous was or how it was constructed.

All I want is quiet right now.  I think I’m going to skip PT tomorrow and try to sleep in a bit.  At least I don’t have to deal with the three boys of doom tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

