Frustrated

Standard

I can’t get used to this Mac.  I thought it would be easier to do command line stuff because of my familiarity with the CLI in Linux.  Ah contraire.  I am familiar with the Red Hat version.  I’ve never done the whole Ubuntu/Debian thing.  And Macs, coming from the BDS world seem to be more like Debian with their stupid sudo.  Look, all I wanted to do was install Digikam (which I’ve used in Linux and am in love with as a photo manager).  I got Mac ports up and running.  But to install I needed to sudo.  Unfortunately my user account isn’t on the sudoers list.  I spent nearly 2 hours trying to get my account in there.  Doesn’t help it uses the evil vi as an editor.  That’s right.  You have to use visudo to edit the file.  I know NOTHING about vi.  I list it as evil.  Emacs is the way to go.

So I figure I’m going to wait until Lion is out to do a clean install.

Oh yeah, my brilliant idea of using the Mac as a media center…  is on hold while I figure out what sort of cables and adapter box I need.  Thank you ancient TV with nothing but RCA inputs.

To add to the fun…  Gidgette is in heat.  I won’t have time to get her to the vet tomorrow.  But hopefully on Tuesday morning, he can give her a shot of kitty birth control.  It works for about a year.  I don’t think I want to go down the route of surgery to see if they can find any more ovarian tissue that’s causing the heat.  The first spay was hard enough on her.

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

One response »

  1. I hate to get new things, because I get really frustrated when I can’t work it and then when I get the hang of it I feel better.

    Wow I didn’t know they had kitty birth control, and worse enough I can’t believe the first spay didn’t work.

    Hope everything gets better with these things. :0)

Leave a Reply

