Health

Anorexia Nervosa?

Me?  I admit it’s been a while since I last took a psychopathology class, but I’m pretty sure part of the diagnostic criteria is being underweight.  Yes, I’m not eating.  Yes, I’ve lost weight.  No, I’m not underweight.  And my body image is just fine, thank you very much.  I’m fat and I know I’m fat.  But I certainly don’t see an elephant when I look in the mirror.

I’m not trying to be flip here.  Really.  Anorexia Nervosa is a serious eating disorder.  And perhaps I’m starting to lean into some sort of eating disorder territory (I ignore the fact I physically feel hungry because I don’t mentally feel hungry).  But really Dr. Park.  Anorexia?  I wish I had my trusty copy of the DSM here.  I guess I’ll ignore the pain in my wrist and see what I can find on the internet.  Hell, I could probably just ask Dr. Park next week to borrow his copy for a day.

In other health news, I’m having my thyroid rechecked along with a bunch of random other checkup type stuff.  I need to confirm with my dad they found cancer in my mom’s thyroid on autopsy.  That’s a vital piece of information that I can’t quite remember.

1 thought on “Anorexia Nervosa?”

  1. Um, well, guess what? Overweight people can have anorexia. Anorexia is a complex eating disorder that has to do not just with body image but self destruction, self denial, the need for control and a host of other things. It’s not just about weight. Its about feelings of worthlessness and sometimes about hiding.

    There are hospitals here in my city that deal with clients like myself who have had symptoms of Anorexia/Bulimia while overweight. They helped with the underlying thinking and they helped me not continue that path I was on.

Leave a Reply

