Windows — GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

Standard

I am so sick and tired of trying to get Windows 7 updated to service pack 1.  I can’t even believe this.  I think I find a fix.  I get the entire thing downloaded (taking seriously like 90 minutes) and I get another error.  Google tells me the error means Windows update can’t contact home.  WTF??????????

I love my netbook.  It’s tiny.  It gets good battery life.  It’s easy to take to a cafe and work.  But why MS??  Why do you have to make it so hard.  And today isn’t the first time I’ve tried.  I’ve tried about 3 times.  I can’t take it anymore.  I’m so ready to find a lightweight Linux distro and put it on there.  It’s either that or throw it out the window.  And since I love it so much, I’m not going to throw it out the window over Windows.

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

3 responses »

  1. And at first glance, I thought you were giving Windows a spirited Tony the Tiger “GRRRRRRRRRRRREAT!”.

    Maybe a bootable DVD for Mint Linux would be a good place to start looking for a replacement.

  2. Alas, no DVD drive. But I’ve been giving aptosid a spin and the LiveCD has a tool to make a USB drive. Probably a place to start.

    I really wanted to like Windows 7. And for the most part I do. But come on, it shouldn’t be this hard to update it.

  3. I also had a hard time with SP1 for Win7. The download stalled every time at 25%. It very helpfully told me that there was an ‘unknown’ error but gave me the code number for it, so I don’t think it was unknown at all.

    I went to a Windows help page and got an update Fixit which said ‘Windows Update Components must be repaired’. I can’t remember now whether it said it had done the repair or not, but anyway my next attempt at downloading SP1 led again to a stall at 25% and the same error code as before.

    So back to another Windows ‘help’ page. This time I got their System Update Readiness Tool. After that the SP1 download still stalled but this time with a different error code.

    I wrote down that I installed their Hotfix KB 947821 but can’t actually remember what I did because the whole process off and on took about 5 days. More off than on but I did waste a lot of time.

    I then tried yet again; it downloaded perfectly and then installed as if there’d never been a problem…

Leave a Reply

