Anxiety, Depression, Medication, Mental Health, Sleep, Venting

Lithium

Yeah. I’m seriously thinking Lithium isn’t going to be the drug for me.  I’m not bipolar, at least by DSM standards.  I don’t get manic or hypomanic episodes.  I cycle between  normal and depressed.  It seems to go in a period of a couple of days.  Thank you MoodScope graphs.

After searching for a trigger on my own for a couple of months, I finally told my p-doc.  Yeah, probably not the best choice.  But whatever.  I should have told him 2 months ago.  But I honestly believed there was an environmental component to this.  If he had offered 2 months ago to put me on Lithium, I would have said no.  I was that certain there was something environmental to this.

Now, all I know is I’ve been miserable since I took my first dose this afternoon.  Anxious, hot, sweating, restless.  It seems like these are common side effects, but damn, I don’t want to be this miserable.  I was about to open up a direct line from the water machine to my classroom.  Ugh.

Oh yeah, it doesn’t help it’s 18C in my apartment (that’s 64.4F for you Yanks) and I’m freezing my butt off.  The burner on my boiler will turn on for a few seconds and then turn right back off.  I’ve pushed all the buttons and I have it cranked up to 45C.  Nothing.  Not a peep from the bloody boiler.

I’m tired.  I think it’s time for bed.  A shirt and two nightgowns plus three blankets and two cats should keep me warm.  I’m not going to turn on my 10000000000000 watt space heater.  It is not conducive to sleep.  I don’t sleep particular well to begin with.  Adding in a mini sun pointed right at you… well, you get the point.

Great.  Now that I’ve complained about it here and texted my boss about it, the bloody boiler decides to fire up.   Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr….  and as I finished typing that sentence, it decided to turn off again.  I give up.  I’m going to bed.

Leave a Reply

