Interesting stuff, Positive things

The Kindness of Strangers

I lost my purse a few days before Christmas.  I left it in a taxi.  When I didn’t get it back within a few days, I wrote it off.  I was bummed because my iPod was in there (and I was in the middle of a great Sherlock Holmes novel) as well as my wallet which was a gift from two good friends.  So I got new bank cards and a new ID card   Blah blah blah.  All the usuall stuff.  Strangely enough, I was talking about it with my boss today, telling her Ihad gotten my new ID card because she needed to copy it.  Not 10 minutes later, a lady walked in with my purse.  She had found it in the taxi and then was so busy with the holidays she had only gotten a chance to drop it off today.  I was floored.  Everything was intact.  I tried to give her some money as a reward.  It’s what I would have done in the US.  But she refused to take it.  Maybe it was culturally unacceptable…  I don’t know.  But I was so grateful.  In that wallet was a 1000 won bill that my two best friends in Korea had written a little note to me.  That’s the thing that broke me up the most.  Losing that piece of paper.  But now I have it back.  And I’ll never forget this lady.  She didn’t have to return it.  She didn’t have to come in person.  I could only say “Thank you” over and over in Korean.

So, 감사합니다!

Leave a Reply

