Changing, changing, changing the theme again

Standard

(sung to the tune of “Sailing, Sailing”)

I decided I needed something a little less spring-like.  It’s cold outside.  It’s cold inside.  My heat runs off the hot water heater.  I don’t run the hot water heater all the time.  In the morning when I need my shower and when I need to do dishes.  I’m not in the apartment during the day, so I see no need to heat it.  Plus, I’m not super sensitive to the cold.  So when I get home from work, I turn the heat on for about an hour and then turn it off again.  My apartment gets warm and I save energy.  Before bed last night, I did dishes, so I had the water heater on.  I had turned the heat part off.  I went to bed.  I woke up about 4 AM shivering so I hit the button to turn the water heater on.  Usually that would have started the heat too.  Ummmm, no because I turned that part off last night.

When I woke up this morning and looked at the thermostat, it was obvious why I was still frozen.  It said 12C (that’s about 54F).  I was flipping out thinking my heat was broken.  Then I looked that the heater dial and saw it was turned down to the off position.  Oh.  Yeah.  That.

Now my apartment is up to 15C (59F) and I’m starting to thaw out.

And that’s what prompted the theme change.

Yes, I am a bit insane.

So now I’m waiting for it to warm up a bit outside (ha!) so I can finish my Christmas shopping.  I decorated the other night and I have my sad, Charlie Brown Christmas looking Christmas tree up.  I have my Advent wreath out, but I have to replace one of the candle holders that broke.  The only thing I wish I had was a nativity.  I doubt I’ll be able to find one here.  I asked a coworker about it (she’s some form of Christian) and she had never heard of such a thing.  I’ll have to have one sent to me for next year.

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

One response »

  1. This reminds me of the night after my wedding. My family has this nasty tradition of sabatoging honeymoons. They think it’s funny. I THOUGHT it was funny too until I got married. They snuck into our honeymoon suite and TRASHED IT. We were married on NYE and they opened all of the windows and doors to the balcony so that the temp dropped to about 12 degrees in the room. Ugh. An hour after closing everything up with no change in the temp, I realized they had also turned the A/C on FULL BLAST. Stay warm this winter!

Leave a Reply

