Some updates

Standard

I don’t have a whole lot to say.  I’m still processing being home.  There are days it seems so real and days when it just feels like a bad dream.  I’m thankful to be back in Korea.

It’s a three day weekend.  Thank goodness.  I’m still exhausted from the trip home.  The weather flying back was really bad for the last 2 hours on the flight into Tokyo.  No seriously…  I started saying Hail Mary’s.  I left my stomach somewhere over the Pacific.

I updated the OS on my computer today.  That turned out to be a bigger pain that I thought.  Why is it that I seem to need 2+ tries to actually get an upgrade right.

I bought some new bedding for my apartment.  My summer bedding was too light now that it’s getting chilly at night.  I technically didn’t need it.  However, the stuff I had was pink.  I’m not a pink person.  The new stuff is blue with pink roses on one side and stripes on the other.  Right now I have the flowered side up, but I think I’ll change it to the striped side.  I’m not anti-flower, but I’m only kind of meh about the pattern.  Find bedding that wasn’t god awful ugly and/or expensive was really challenging.  When I do move home, I’ll ship both the summer and winter bedding home.  I’m not leaving it for the next people.

That’s about all.  Emotionally I’m confused.  I’m tending toward stuffing mode, so I’m working hard to at least acknowledge that I’m feeling stuff, even if I don’t understand it.

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

15 responses »

  1. I was just thinking about you and was going to ask how you were. Thanks for the update. You’re doing good work.

  2. At least you have a 3 day weekend to kind of gather your thoughts and relax a bit. Hope all goes well and things get back in the swing for you.

    hugs

    keepers

  3. Curious, what OS were you having trouble with?

    These days if I have trouble installing a new Linux distribution I take that as my first sign to forget about it and try a different one. Currently I have three installed on my 200G hard drive: Slackware, Debian, and I installed Vector two days ago. I tried Fedora Core once but there was some problem or other that I couldn’t get past, but I don’t remember. I prefer KDE over GNOME, but because I’m becoming old and dusty change is getting to be more difficult.

    And only one time did a “Hail Mary” help with an installation. I think it was Ubuntu CE. But because I’m agnostic, I didn’t believe that it was really installed and never got around to using it.

  4. “I left my stomach somewhere over the Pacific.”……
    that’s exactly why I don’t fly!!!!!!

    I like pink but in small quantities. I have some pink on my bed but not a lot. It makes me feel like a little girl and that to me isn’t safe. I prefer blue or a cream color for my bedspread. I’ll even go quilt but I want it to mostly be blue if it’s a quilt. The bedroom has to feel safe for me to sleep in it. I noticed one time that my whole room was pink, everything was mauve or a light shade of it and that really didn’t do well for my PTSD issues. I had to blue and cream it out and fast.

    Sleep is the most vulnerable position a human can be in. If that person doesn’t feel comfortable emotionally and physically while in that state they’ll never recharge for what lies ahead.

    until again,
    Austin

  5. @ Andy Alt

    “But because I’m agnostic, I didn’t believe that it was really installed and never got around to using it. ”

    Ha ha ha ha haaaa LOL

    You still had questions as to if Ubuntu CE exists or you believe matters of Ubuntu could not be proven with certainty. Because matters of Ubuntu seemed without true claim you became what we believers like to call one who wonders without an OS.

    Sincerely and with faith in Ubuntu CE,
    Austin

    (I don’t even know what Ubuntu CE is but I thought your comment was funny.)

  6. @Andy…

    I was installing Fedora 9 (with KDE, of course). I don’t remember what I messed up the first time, but I had no idea how to fix it. Currently I have Fedora 9 and Kubuntu Hearty installed. I never use Kubuntu (I’m not a big fan of Debian based stuff) plus when I upgraded from F7 to F8 my grub.conf got messed up and I lost the ability to boot to Kubuntu. When I get some time, I’m going to install the XO live CD to that partition. But first I need to reformat, label it, deal with fstab and all that fun stuff.

    OMG, I’ve never heard of Ubuntu CE. That’s unique.

    @Austin…

    I hear you on the sleep thing. I’ve worked really hard to get to the point where I can sleep in a bed. Shit. When I moved to Korea, I couldn’t. Not at all. Not one bit. I slept in a chair, on the futon, on a couch. Anywhere but a bed. When I went home for the funeral, I did the same thing. I moved among the three. Home was a big trigger for my sleep problems (along with the damn time change).

  7. Just a question – was any of what you said to Andy in English?

    Fedora 9 with KDE and Kubuntu Hearty but not Debian based from F7 to F8 grub.conf with its unique Hail Mary Ubuntu CE.

    Okay, I need to stop :-) There’s no telling who I just cursed out or whose Ubuntu Mama I just talked bad about :-) Foreign languages are so fun though…..

    Austin

  8. LOL Austin!

    Well, it’s English, but a particular dialect of English called Geek. It took me a while to learn to speak Geek. I’m getting better at it too.

  9. Hence the old saying,

    It’s all Geek to me

    Austin, glad you appreciated my little joke. As hard as you laughed, you might have died of a laugh-attack if you had known what Ubuntu CE is. The quote below, by the way, was done by miracle. That is to say, the miracl of copy and paste. Because I don’t understand how letters can auto-magically disappear in one place and reappear in another is what makes it miraculous.

    Ubuntu Christian Edition is a free, open source operating system geared towards Christians. It is based on the popular Ubuntu Linux. Ubuntu is a complete Linux-based operating system, freely available with both community and professional support. The goal of Ubuntu Christian Edition is to bring the power and security of Ubuntu to Christians. Ubuntu Christian Edition is suitable for both desktop and server use. The current Ubuntu Christian Edition release supports PC (Intel x86). Ubuntu Christian Edition includes more than 16,000 pieces of software, but the core desktop installation fits on a single CD. Ubuntu Christian Edition covers every standard desktop application from word processing and spreadsheet applications to web server software and programming tools.

    Along with the standard Ubuntu applications, Ubuntu Christian Edition includes the best available Christian software. The latest release contains GnomeSword, BibleMemorizer, BibleTime, and much more.

    And please, seriously, I have no desire to start a religious debate. Just having a little fun. And that quote is seriously from the CE home page.

    I tried Kubuntu a couple times, but always had problems with the adept package manager crashing. Probably it was after I did customizations and built a few packages, but my memories fail me without a brain backup.

  10. I gotta say, I like yum much better than apt-get. I always update from the command line (much faster, IMO) and if I know what software I want, I’ll do it that way too. But if I’m poking around, I’ll use the GUI package manager. That said, I hate the changes they made to the package manager in F9. I hate the new KDE desktop. If I save a file to my desktop, then I want it to show up on my desktop damnit. Maybe I haven’t found the right settings, but it seems like this widgetization of KDE has added an extra layer of complexity to my work flow.

    Hmmm… maybe I should revive my Linux blog and rant about it there.

  11. I was very upset when Microsoft stopped making DOS and Windows 95 started popping up everywhere. I’d been using DOS since ’91 and quite preferred it’s speed and stability.

    I like the command line too, but sometimes it’s faster for me to use a gui when I don’t have the time or patience to learn switches and things.

    I’ve only used yum a couple times and can’t make a comparison. The last time I tried Fedora Core was around 6, iirc. And as usual, I don’t remember why I didn’t continue to try it.

  12. @ Andy,

    And please, seriously, I have no desire to start a religious debate.

    Heck no, I wouldn’t do that to ya.
    I too enjoy the miracle of copy paste

    Austin

  13. Austin, it’s like we’re soul-brothers or something, pretty eerie. I wonder if anybody else delights in our joys of copy and paste.

    On a serious note, Kat, since you like working at the command line, I wanted to make you aware of a bash script I finished this morning. It’s a Linux Console Trash/Waste Basket.
    http://mentaldimensions.wordpress.com/2008/10/21/linux-console-trash-waste-basket-rmw/

    Does FC9 distribute a separate version with KDE as default, or is it still a matter of installing KDE after the initial installation using GNOME?

    I need a good distro for multimedia/video/audio/DVD mastering. So far, I have yet to find one that has “devede” in the repository. devede is my favorite dvd authoring utility.

    Sure I can build everything on Slackware, but it was much cleaner when checkinstall worked.

  14. Thanks for the script. I’ll have to take a closer look at it when my brain isn’t all fuzzy and stuff.

    Fedora has had a separate KDE CD since at least F7, which is when I started with it. But don’t even get me started on the suckiness which is KDE4. I HATE it. It’s totally disrupted my work flow with it’s widget nonsense. If I save a file to the desktop, I want to see it there. Not some widget preview of the file (which I have to add separately). WTF.

    Haven’t done much multimedia stuff. I need to look for a video editor. Occasionally I shoot videos on my digital camera, but there’s always stuff that needs chopped off at the beginning or end. I’ve been using VirtualDub on Windows.

  15. On LInux, LiVES or avidemux are suitable for video editing. I don’t actually do any video editing like what you mentioned, but just converting my videos to DVD format because I hate watching stuff on the computer.

    I suppose you didn’t say you were actively looking for linux video editing software, but if you are, there’s other suggestions at http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/video-editor-reviews-from-a-linux-novice-665366/

    I haven’t used KDE4 yet. Think I will wait. I found a good alternative to checkinstall yesterday. slackbuilds.org doesn’t have precompiled packages, but there are lots of Slackbuild scripts that give me a .tgz package at the end, which is what checkinstall used to do.

Leave a Reply

