Still Standing

Standard

Still Standing

It’s been a while since I’ve done any artwork. I don’t know exactly why I stopped. I guess my creative juices dried up. Same with my writing. I’m trying to get those juices flowing again. On a whim, I bought some soft pastels and paper at LotteMart on Saturday. I just pulled them out tonight. I forgot how much I love the feeing of chalk on my fingers. I should be a teacher in an old fashioned school that actually uses chalkboards rather than white marker boards.

Anyhow, I’ve had this image sort of playing through my mind the last few weeks. I get these awesome images in my head, but I never can seem to translate those onto paper. This one actually turned out half way decently.

The basic image is a isolated island out in the middle of the ocean. It’s actually a very small island.

Phew, I’m back. Firefox crashed on me twice. Once randomly and once when I opened a site that had an all Flash front page. I’m guessing the non-Adobe implementation of Flash doesn’t work quite as well as I hoped.

As I was saying. It’s a very small island that contains a very large tree. It’s a stormy night. The tree is getting battered by the storm, but it is still standing (hence the title of the post).

Ya know.  I actually like how this turned out.  I think I captured the movement of the tree in the wind.

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

3 responses »

  1. The island is large from the viewer’s perspective — it takes up most of the page. Perhaps you are feeling less overwhelmed by the oceans around you, or else you’re growing more certain of your right to exist and be yourself. The tree, too, is very large, and that storm looks puny behind it — the lightning has no chance against that big strong tree.

  2. Thanks Marcy. I didn’t think of it that way. To me an island with one tree on it must be tiny. But if you look at how I drew it, then yeah, it isn’t so small.

  3. large? small? whatever, just know it made you feel better to get it on paper and that is most important! congrats on getting that swaying feeling captured!!

    peace and blessings

    keepers

Leave a Reply

