Dreams and Friends

Standard

I’ve been meaning to post this for the last few days, but life has gotten in the way. Let’s just say things are insane at work and are only going to get more insane. Although, it’s not as bad as it could be. When I saw the tentative schedule last week, I was scheduled to teach 8 afternoon classes, but it turns out I only got 6 (mainly because I can be in only one place at once). Next week our morning schedule goes back to normal plus I get to be a homeroom teacher too (so much for that blessed 5 minutes where we got to sit down).

So I had a dream the other night. It wasn’t my typical nightmare either. It’s the first good dream I’ve had in an extremely long time.

Austin and I were playing at the house where I grew up. Her animals were there. My guinea pig, Sparkler, was there as was my long departed kitty Jeepers and Parquet, the kitty my family took in. There was also a stray cat we were playing with. None of our parents were anywhere around. We had a blast running through the house and the yard. The animals were being nuts-so as only awesome pets can be. I remember sitting under the huge cottonwood trees and talking for what seemed like hours. In the dream we were normal, everyday kids doing normal, everyday kid stuff.

It really was a refreshing change from the nightmares I’ve been having. I’ve been writing them down in my private blog, but I haven’t felt strong enough to share them here. They involve some new memories that I wish I could forget.

I’m still extremely tired and run down. I’m just getting over a cold that one of my co-workers so generously shared with me and at least one other teacher. I taught 8 consecutive classes this afternoon. I didn’t sit down between 1:50 and 5:10. And the vast majority of the classes are with students who are either new to the school or new to me. My head is spinning trying to learn names and deal with the fact that they upped the class size from 12 to 15.  I’m hoping to catch a nap tomorrow morning.  Right now, the 7 year old classes aren’t meeting because those kids moved up from the preschool to the elementary level.  We all switched our remaining classes around so we didn’t have to sit around all morning and twiddle our thumbs.  So I teach 9:40-10:35 the rest of this week and then I’m off until 2:15 (well, Tuesdays I start at 1:50).  So I figure I can fit in a solid 2 hour nap no problem.  My to-do list is starting to look like a short novel.  I suppose I should at least make a start on the letter to the preschool parents.  I don’t know why I get to write it.  It’s not like the majority of those parents know a lick of English…

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

2 responses »

  1. i love dreams and working out where mine have come from and what my subconscious has picked up on during the day/week. i find them very interesting.

    oh no, i’ve had a cold too – i hope yours clears up soon :) good luck with getting a nap in too.

  2. :-) Very cool dream.

    Some things that go on in my head don’t make it to the blog either. They’re in the private journal.

    As for this letter in your novel size to do list… That sounds interesting that you “get” to write it seeing as how you don’t speak Korean and they don’t speak much English. Sounds very fruitful to me… LOL Well, only use words i the letter you’ve taught the children so the children can read it to the parents. That would be my suggestion. LOL

    Austin

Leave a Reply

