Emotions, Positive things

Yes!

GRUB has been whipped into submission. I now have a fully functional, triple booting laptop.

It was hard getting to this point. Typos are the worst. But I found one on my own and my tutor found the other one.

For the curious, my grub.conf looks like this. I removed my name for privacy.

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Modified by KatM
# August 27, 2007
# To triple boot Vista, Ubuntu 7.04 and Fedora Core 7 (Quiet and Verbose)
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You do not have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
# root (hd0,5)
# kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda6
# initrd /boot/initrd- version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=30
splashimage=(hd0,5)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora Core 7 – QUIET
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7.img
title Fedora Core 7 – VERBOSE
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz- 2.6.21-1.3194.fc7 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7.img
title Ubuntu 7.04 – QUIET
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-15-generic ro root=/dev/sda5 quiet
initrd /boot/initrd.img- 2.6.20-15-generic
title Ubuntu 7.04 – VERBOSE
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-15-generic ro root=/dev/sda5
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.20-15-generic
title Vista
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

4 thoughts on “Yes!”

  1. It is so good to have multi-lingual friends. Not only do you speak English but you speak and write in Chinese.

    For real though, you may be across the ocean from me but if I have PC related questions I know where to go. I may need a translator but I do know where to go. I’m the type that believes when I turn the PC on it should do what I ask it to do without me programming stuff in. It should act right just because not because I went into some partition or portion or serving size thingamabob and forced it to act right. It should boot cause I pushed the button, period. Oops, short little rant/rave there. I just think my PC should come super partitioned or super sized. I shouldn’t have to do it myself.
    :-)

    Austin

  2. one more thing…… LOL

    There 3 people you always need in your life
    1- always know a good cop
    2- always know a PC whiz (and translator)
    3 – always know a priest.

    You need a good cop on your side always. Once you know one he/she will introduce you to others and you’re buddies with the force. Protection is always good.
    Gotta have a PC whiz cause in this digital world backup for dummies is necessary. And when you go off on a rampage for not getting your PC tech to super size when you asked for it you call your good cop friend and make the charges disappear.
    Why a priest? Because by the time you hang around a bunch of cops and computers all day you’ll need to get in some confession time.

    Aussie :-)

  3. LOL Austin.

    Please don’t come knocking on my door for Windows help. I’m as clueless as the next person. Hell, I can’t even get the wireless working on my Vista box. And it’s not worth the frustration to try to do so. So I’ll remain tethered to the Ethernet cable.

    Believe me when I say I wouldn’t have been able to do 99% of this stuff without Eric holding my hand.

    FWIW, most computers act right when you start ’em up. What I’m trying to do isn’t quite standard. It’s not totally out in left field. If you just want a working computer, then just let it run what was pre-installed. If you like tweaking, then go for it. You do learn a lot.

    It’s kinda fun (in a low-level, geeky way) to look at what happens at start-up. In Linux, it’s all saved for you.

  4. triple booting is great! I made something similar so that if one partition/OS goes slow-wonky I can go to the other smooth running one. Also I have one partition/OS with minimum system resources( firewall, antivirus off, most services and programs turned off) so when I want to do audio or video editing it will go as fast as possible.

Leave a Reply

