Anxiety, Emotions, Positive things

Random Updates

My familiarity and comfort level with Ubuntu is getting better every day.  I’m no longer terrified to try new things for fear of breaking my computer.  I tried to get wireless networking functional earlier this week (didn’t succeed) and I thought I had broken my entire internet connection.  Even though it was showing an active wired connection, Firefox and BOINC couldn’t connect to the internet.  Oh well I thought.  I’m planning on repartitioning my hard drive next week and reinstalling both Ubuntu and Vista.  So it’s no big loss.  I booted back into Ubuntu last night and the internet connection was fine.

I fiddled some with the font size and display characteristics.  Out of the box, Ubuntu doesn’t support the native resolution of my laptop’s monitor (it’s some wide screen thing) so everything is sort of big and fuzzy.  I’ve got it looking fairly decent now.

I tried some new command line things.  A few days ago Eric and I were having a conversation about pipes and I/O redirection.  I’m trying to make a master play list for mplayer so I don’t have to keep changing directories to get my music to play.  Although I got the redirect to work, mplayer is having issues with the file because it’s using relative paths, not absolute ones.  So I’m trying to figure out how to make it use what I need it to use.

At work, we’re having our theme days.  It’s just a fancy way of saying we take the kids to the park and let them play.  It’s hot and humid here.  And even though my activity allows me to sit in the shade, it’s still pretty miserable.  To add to my anxiety, one of the Korean teachers walks around with a megaphone blaring the siren to get the kids’ attention.  It worked the first few times.  After that it was down right annoying.  Think Ty Pennington (from ABC’s Extreme Makeover: Home Edition) on crack.  Doesn’t help she blasted in my ear.  I’ve already lost about 20% of the hearing in that ear due to some inner ear trauma from flying with an unknown ear infection (and later had surgery on the same ear).  So I don’t need to lose any more hearing in it.  She’s lucky that she didn’t end up in the fountain along with her megaphone.

2 thoughts on “Random Updates”

  1. we can just see the blog, “how it got really quiet when i threw her in the pond”, we chuckled over that one sentence, different cultures are difficult to adjust to aren’t they?

    thinking of you

    keepers

  2. I managed to suppress my urges to throw the teacher in the fountain for yet another day.

    But if I have to hear that megaphone ever again….

Leave a Reply

