Me, Myself and I

Standard

I was checking the CrazyBoards forums the other day. I’ll just warn you now, it’s not your typical warm fuzzy type of mental health forum. But I digress. I came across a person working on an assignment from her therapist. I thought it was an interesting idea, so I decided to do it as well. Okay, I decided to steal it.

::looks around innocently::

The basic idea of the assignment was to make a pie chart depicting the different parts of yourself. I modified the basic assignment somewhat because I was feeling so down and negative yesterday. What I decided to do was to make a pie chart showing my positive qualities.

It was not an easy task for me at all. It took me the better part of two hours to come up with the list. I used OpenOffice (I’m trying to migrate away from MS Office) to create the pie chart. But to do so, I had to assign numbers to go along with the different parts of myself. To make things easy, I used percents. The whole me is 100 and each part got its own weight. So after I spent the two hours coming up with my list. I spent another hour fine tuning the weights. Nah… it wasn’t a bit of OCD coming out in me. Not at all.

::looks around innocently again::

So I came up with the following…

 

 

It was easy to start writing the bad things about myself and the parts of myself that I hate. It was a whole lot harder to focus on the good qualities I have. But it’s something that I think I’ve probably needed to do for a long time. And I’m not one to back down from a challenge.

All in all, this assignment really appealed to me. It speaks to my love of all things technological, numerical and statistical. So, I’ve also come up with a variant of on the theme of this assignment to do in the future.

I have a hard time sorting out what I’m feeling. Part of it stems from having a tough time just naming my feelings and emotions. But when I actually do come up with names, it’s hard to identify which are the most intense. It feels like a big old jumbled up mess. Maybe by being analytical and trying to give them a weight, it will help me sort things out. If nothing more, it will give me something external to focus on when it feels completely overwhelming.

I encourage my fellow bloggers and readers to try this out and post their results. It will probably give you some insight into yourself. But it will also give your readers insight into you. Feel free to modify the assignment as you need.

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

5 responses »

  1. I have gotten better at identifying my emotions, but I also have a hard time rating their intensity or even how long they last. The 0-10 rating scale on the standard DBT diary card was too hard, so what I’ve done instead are dots — smaller dots are either less intense, less long-lasting, or both. I can now compare intensities of one day fairly well, but it’s harder to compare over a longer period of time.

    I might try some variation of that pie chart. I think it would be very hard for me to assign a weight to each characteristic. How did you do it — based on how important the characteristic is to you, or how much time or energy you spend on it, or something else, or some combination?

  2. I like the dot idea. I’ll have to try that.

    It was hard to assign the weights. I started with the things that I thought defined me the most and then put the list in order.

    I think my weight assignments were based on how important things were and how long I’ve been engaging in the activities. Part of it too was the time spent, but that was fairly minor. Another thing that played a role is how good I felt I was at certain things. If you notice, artist got the smallest piece of the pie. I think I suck as an artist. But it’s something positive I do, so I thought it should be on the list.

    ::sigh::

    Rereading the above, it makes no sense….

  3. That sounds like an interesting exercise to try. I might have to do that.
    Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

