Interesting stuff, Positive things

A new life in the making

There’s an air conditioning unit in the window of my living room/office. The sun comes in from the west in the evenings. The other night I noticed a strange fluttering of the light. So I walked over to the window to see what was going on. A bird was building a nest.

I checked on my new guest yesterday and what do I see? A tiny egg.

Click for Full Size

It’s not even as big as my thumb. I was literally right on top of the window when I took the picture.

 

And here is the proud mamma. I managed to snap this without scaring her off.

Click for Full Size

She’s keeping her baby warm. And that is quite challenging right now, as it’s currently 38F (~2C) outside. With the wind, it feels much colder than that.

 

The new life, right outside my window, reminds me of the hope that there is in the world. It’s sort of like a symbol of my healing. That new life is growing and developing. And then it will break out into the world. And that’s what I’m trying to do.


Update: I looked out the window this morning and there are now two little eggs.

14 thoughts on “A new life in the making”

  1. Kathryn, it is a dove. Not only a symbol of your healing, but of peace. How cool is that?

  2. Oh that’s so neat! She really is a beautiful bird. I’m going to try to get a better picture tomorrow. She’s not flying away immediately when I approach the window now.

  3. When I was going through a very stressful and traumatic period…oh, gee, perhaps last spring–later in the season–I was on my way to work and found the majority of a Robin’s egg fully in tact on the ground. I could tell that a bird had just been born as there was still some, I am assuming, albumen still inside.

    It took me back to an actual happy memory of childhood, finding the same thing when I was about six or seven and wrapping it up safely in a tissue and taking it home, so proud. I did the same thing that day and took it in to work and showed anyone who would take a look.

    I was awaiting serious news and kept looking at my Robin’s egg for hope. I’m really not one for Talismans but I suppose when desperate we might be driven to anything? My so called “Saviour” came to me that day or at least shortly thereafter–sorry, memory murky. Everything worked out and I hung on to that Robin’s egg throughout the whole period.

    But unfortunately, my Robin’s egg broke not long ago. Some things are just too precious to exist forever? I was sad but also during that time a very kind man I worked with (who is no longer there) gave me a tiny statue of the Hindu God ‘Ganesh’ who signifies (among other things) “Strength Over Adversity” or destroyer of evils and obstacles. He knew what I was facing. I found that very kind of him considering he told me he had the same little statue at home. He was also a fellow nutter like me so again, very kind. I still have little Ganesh though and he’s made of brass so he won’t break!

  4. how neat, that momma and her egg you will be able to watch through the entire process, and what a parallel it draws!

    peace and blessings

    keepers

  5. I don’t know if I’ll see the eggs hatch. I may be moving out of the country in a few weeks. But even if I don’t, I’ll be thinking about them.

    Hmmm… Maybe I need to name the babies :-)

  6. Moving out of the country!!! Gracious!!! Now that’s a move. I knew you were moving but I never thought to KOREA!!! That’s quite a move but perhaps a good one. I can think of a few good reason to move. Starting over where you know few of anyone at all can sometimes be a good thing.

    the bird eggs are too sweet. Spasmically Perfect (a blogger) is soon to be a grandmother too. She has a nest of eggs outside her window. I have two cardinals that show up during the Spring. I love it when they rest on the fence and call to one another. It’s so cool. Might I be a bird grandma some day too? :0)

    I like the name Godfrey but the only problem is checking the sex of the birds. If you can figure out how to do that in some legal and moral way then let us know. LOL Otherwise choose unisex names. Just don’t go checking stuff out on the bird. Can birds have PTSD from humans checking to make sure they’re a guy or girl? We don’t want to send a little birdie to therapy now do we? The little birdie speaks to the birdie therapist: “And then the human checked to see if I was a girl or a boy. (the little bird weeps) Why didn’t she just name me Kelly or Shawn?”
    I say stick with unisex names. LOL

    Austin

  7. It’s definitely a good move for me Austin. I actually spent a year there between July of 05 and July of 06. So I have a few friends there. And I won’t be that far from them either. But I’ll blog about this at a later date.

    As for the rest of your post, OMG, it totally cracked me up.

    I now have a pic of both eggs, so I’ll have to open up another poll for naming the eggs.

Leave a Reply

