One word

Standard

In looking for some journaling prompts, I came across Oneword. You click on the go button and up pops a one word prompt. You have a minute to write about that word.

You know how they say there are no coincidence in life? Well, I was thinking about my mother who is a functional alcoholic. And what was the word that the site gave me?

LUSH

The following is what I wrote in that minute. It ended up just being a list of words that popped into my mind. For me, one minute isn’t enough to actually write anything.

 

mother
drinker
anger
hurt
why?
scared of her
grandfather
confused
anxious
sad
questions
home
night time

 

It’s really an excellent site, very simple as well. You have the option of submitting what you wrote for others to view. There are also two related sites, Poetc and Onecaption.

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

4 responses »

  1. I tried this after reading your blog and, like yourself, I don’t think you can write anything coherent and structured in a minute, so I just wrote a list of words as they popped into my head…

    The word I was given was “cheeks” and the list I produced in that minute was

    cheeky,
    monkey,
    banana,
    yellow,
    mistakes,
    forget,
    make me,
    toil,
    forlorn,
    sorrow,
    scarecrow,
    straw,
    brittle,
    bitter,
    sweet,
    melody,
    harmony,
    honey,
    bee,
    buzzing,
    bubbling,
    ebbing,
    flowing,
    secreting,
    seeping,
    weeping,
    sad,
    happy,
    devine,
    heavenly,
    celestial,
    angel,
    andel,
    love,
    roses,
    rosy,
    cheeks

    Phew!

    Thanks for the idea – this was fun :)

  2. Lord knows I could use some prompts right now so I appreciate the link. I had to laugh at the word lush popping up though. When I do this I”ll let you know what word I get. If I get the word Mama I’ll drop dead. LOL

    Austin

  3. LOL.

    No dropping dead on me.

    I’ve got one friend I’m worried about. That’s plenty, thank you. You keep trucking along.

Leave a Reply

