The War Within

Standard

There are the voices within that tell me I’m no good.

There are the people outside who tell me I’m okay.

So who to listen to?

There are the voices within that tell me it was my fault.

There are the people outside who tell me it wasn’t.

So who to listen to?

There are the voices within that urge me to slice and dice.

There are the people outside who want me to be safe.

So who to listen to?

There are the voices within that tell me the fight is useless.

There are the people outside who cheer me on.

So who to listen to?

 

April 4, 2007

About katm

I'm just your typical depressed donkey. I'm an abuse survivor. I deal with the pain and stiffness and other fun stuff that goes with fibromyalgia. I used to teach English for a living but because of my health, that isn't any option anymore. I love to cook and feel most in my element when I'm in the kitchen tinkering around.

5 responses »

  1. Someone stole your innocence from you and controlled you then.
    But that was then and this is now.

  2. In the past moments, hours, days and years you were the loser and the other was the thief who stole from you. Return to the past and the theft goes on and on .

    But in the “now” moment the victory is your – you are the winner.

    Carpet diem – seize the day!

  3. the eternal struggle, past versus present, abusers versus supporters, taught versus learning, the struggles is indeed a struggles but the journey and the outcome are so very worht it

    peace and hugs

    keepers

  4. Do any of the voices within feel comforted or validated or vindicated by the voices outside? How many of the voices within used to be outside voices that persuaded you once? Can the now outside voices combat those past, internalized outside voices?

  5. I hadn’t clicked your poetry category before. I’m happy I did. This is strong, clear, emotive. WOW!

    I know this struggle all too well.
    Austin

Leave a Reply

