Child Abuse, Depression, Self Injury, Suicide

Self Injury

This is something I extensively struggled with a few years back. And honestly I’ve struggled with for most of my life in one form or another.

It’s been almost 6 years (will be the middle of February) since the last time I cut myself.
When I was in the hospital I worked very hard with the psychologists to develop more positive and healthy coping strategies.

Thankfully, I’m still able to say I haven’t cut myself in these last 6 years. But those positive coping strategies aren’t working as well as they used to. I’m finding myself faced with the urges to cut and thinking about other ways to hurt myself more and more frequently. And having to use multiple methods to deal with those urges.
I know there are multiple reasons why the urges come to the forefront of my mind. I have enough insight into my somewhat dysfunctional mind for that. A large part of it is finding a way to make the emotional pain “real”. By real I mean something physical and tangible. Something that I can see that proves how badly I’m hurting inside. I don’t want other people to see it. I learned how to hide it a long time ago.

Part of my crazy mind thinks that I don’t have anything to justify the amount of emotional pain I’m in. So by making it physical, it proves to myself that I’m really hurting.

In the end, I know I have a decision to make. Do I want to go back down that road of self-destruction? Or do I want to continue to work to make things better? I’m not sure which I want. I do know that I still feel extremely suicidal. And somehow I wonder if cutting wouldn’t minimize some of those feelings.

I should clarify that the vast majority of time self injury has nothing to do with suicidal feelings or ideation. And even now I’m pretty sure that the two aren’t related. I don’t want to cut to kill myself though cutting. I want to cut to make my pain “real”. I have other plans for the whole ending my life idea.

3 thoughts on “Self Injury”

  1. Wow, I just found your blog through wordpress and I want to say…please don’t injure yourself! You are precious and moving forward, please keep walking.

    I’m a victim too, although I injured myself through promiscuity and anorexia. I’m counting decades now of not harming that way…you can be too.

    With your permission, may I pray for you?

  2. So I have only read one entry on your blog, I shall catch up tomorrow. I think that the minute you allow or entertain the idea of suicide, you should get help. I learned the second hardest way possible.

    I think people wrongly lump self injury in the traditional ways into the catergory of suicidal. I do not think that at all. I believe that self injury in this high controlled manner (initially mind you) is a strange way to do this release…but it is 2007 and the world leads us to strange things.

    I hope you find meaning in the world. In something in this world. I believe that is the inherent question.

  3. I want you to know, I found this post beautiful. eh… I am strange.
    Also, I think what you said about “self injury” not being related to suicidal ideation, is brilliant. It clarified a little bit of confusion I had in the back of my mind somewhere.
    Anyway, beautiful.
    -Tom Dandy

Leave a Reply

